brazerzkidaitrail.blogg.se

Mono prince of darkness album
Mono prince of darkness album










mono prince of darkness album

While Highway 61 is my favorite album of all-time, these are my desert island discs. (In no particular order) and 10 Honorable Mentions (in no particular order) At the time this handsome six-disc set seemed impossibly luxurious but it's really pulled its weight in my collection over the years.Īs for duds & disappointments, generally if I don't get the listening enjoyment out of a set that I hoped for then I tend to blame myself as purchaser more than I do anyone else.ġ0 Favorite Deluxe Editions and Archival Sets

  • I was already a big Keith Jarrett fan when I bought The Sun Bear Concerts.
  • Special mention, though, of the amazing book that accompanied it, which allowed the aspiring Sorabji fan to place this work in his wider career as composer.
  • John Ogdon's recording of Sorabji’s Opus Clavicembalisticum is a four-disc epic: at the time of its issue ot was one of the longest and most virtuosic works for solo piano to have been recorded.
  • I love the big King Crimson boxed sets (who wouldn't?) but the boxed set that really got me into KC was the second volume of The 21st Century Guide To King Crimson, a lovingly presented four-disc set which, given the remastering programme that followed, will probably be consigned to the dustbin of history.
  • Similarly, Sinatra's On Air 1935-55 was the boxed set that got me listening to Sinatra.
  • I don't even own Bob Dylan's Another Self-Portrait physically, having instead bought it at a bargain price as a download, but it's the album that broke my long-standing scepticism about Dylan in general.
  • Richard Thompson's Watching The Dark is just three discs (barely even a boxed set by today's standards) but it was the set of recordings that turned me into a huge RT fan and there were a few years there when he was my favourite recording artist.
  • Leaving pride of ownership out of this for a minute: I know it's rambling and convoluted but because it's been a long search I really cherish this boxset (and the music's great too!) Meanwhile my girlfriend finds a record I had been searching for a long time. I chat with the guy and I have a really good time (he even allows us to smoke in his store). It's really gorgeous (3 Cds in paper sleeves with sticker on them, b&w photographs, photocopied liner notes.). One year and a half later, my girlrfiend and me spend some holidays in Bordeaux and of course I have to visit the record store! We meet the guy and he remembers me. And if I ever come to Bordeaux there are a few of these left. And I ask if the band ever released something else and he tells me that he compiled a boxset with everything the band ever recorded. He tells that the singer died a few years back.

    mono prince of darkness album

    I call him and he is very suprised to hear about his former band from 20 years ago. So I look up the internet and I learn that the bassist now owns a record store in Bordeaux. And she said 'why don't try again? It's been 10 years!'. I'm kinda disappointed but after all it's not that important.įlash forward 10 years later (or so): I'm moving in with my girlfriend and she spots the cover 'Oh what's that? It's so cute!!'. Back home I listened to it and I really liked it!! I search the band on the internet and there's nothing. In 2005/2006 I picked up a vinyl copy of the band's second EP (1995) from the radio I worked for at the time only because I liked the cover. This one's kind of personnal and it's a long story. Dog Shop - The Complete Ultimate Definitive Discograpy LOTS of fillers on this one but 1966 was really an amazing year for Motown: lots of great singles and some more obscure stuff: Chris Clark's Love Gone Bad, The Mynah Birds. It's not perfect by any means (some 'fillers' here there) but still. I was already into 60s music but THIS is the real deal to me. But hearing all this was just amazing and it probably changed my life in many ways. I was aware that Pet Sounds was a GREAT album.












    Mono prince of darkness album